have any loop created with custom default parameters

Discuss using the OSC interface to control SL

Moderator: jesse

vichug

have any loop created with custom default parameters

Post by vichug »

hi,
i'm relatively new to SooperLooper and its magic, and have been struggling during the past few days with trying to communicate through OSC with a SL AU plugin.
If i'm trying to do it via OSC, it's because i was unsuccessful trying to do it via AU specific parameters, and i have no clue as to if it's a problem from my host (which is a beta-test maxMSP object, audiounit~) or from SL itself.

Well, the only interesting thing in my question is that i would like to be able to create loops via OSC with default parameters : sync and play sync activated ( sync and playback_sync to non-0), and it might be that i'm just stupid or that i missed some very basic thing, because i don't know how to create a loop with those default parameters activated. I've been thinking about registering or auto-update_registering to something like "new loop added" or "loop count changed" but didn't find such thing in the OSC api, so i was wondering if there is actually a solution...

anyway thanks and grats for the great thing that is SooperLooper.
vichug

Re: have any loop created with custom default parameters

Post by vichug »

and also, can't you check "keep on top" from the audiounit client, as a parameter, or even access it via osc ?
jesse

Post by jesse »

You'll need to set those parameters after the new loop is created. Yes, there is a way to register for new loops having been added, and it is missing from the docs, sorry:

/register s:returl s:retpath

Send the above with your return URL and path as the two string parameters, and whenever a loop is added or removed, SL will send you a /pingack message (described in the docs) which includes the total loopcount, so you can reload state for the loops. An /unregister removes you from the list to get those updates.