Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Discuss future feature requests. All ideas welcome.

Moderator: jesse

Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby danoken » Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:29 pm

Hi Jesse,

Sooperlooper is a wonderful program. I've been using it a few short weeks, but I'm finding it incredibly useful (and it gives me an excuse to haul out my 20 y/o Rockman Midi pedal to control it).

So, here's my request. I'd like to be able to control the tempo of a loop, in real time, by clicking a button (or buttons) on my midi pedal. This would be similar to tap tempo, but instead, it would change the speed of the loop incrementally, maybe up or down by .01 each time I press one of two buttons assigned on the midi pedal. Having this feature would be incredibly helpful for live performances with a band, so I can speed up or slow down a loop (w/out affecting pitch) to match the tempo of the other players.

As-is, after a while, the time tends to drift, and there's no way to correct it easily while continuing to play along with the band.

Thanks again for developing SooperLooper!

Ken
danoken
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:18 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby jesse » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:23 pm

A tempo increment/decrement command is a good feature request, I just put it on the list.

One way to correct while playing with a band is to occasionally retrigger the loop manually (or pedually), but it takes some practice to get it right on. The other way is to crank it up and make the damn band follow your loop! :)
jesse
 
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:46 am

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby danoken » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:10 pm

Thanks, Jesse. That would be an great addition to a great program!

I'll try that retrigger trick to see if it helps keep everybody on keep time with the loop (or loops). Believe me, we've tried a bunch of things to keep everyone in sync w/loops. I even recorded my looped parts in real-time using a visual metronome on an iPhone, but at some point, with two or three loops going, the bass player and drummer speed up/slow down just enough to make things get pretty ugly, fast. (Of course, my loops are perfect every time, so it's never my fault. :D )

Ken
danoken
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:18 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby jojaku » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:06 am

hey jesse did you ever do anything about this request? i think it's an amazing idea, and it could definitely help me in my current band, which is an all improv band...:)
jojaku
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:47 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby jesse » Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:08 am

Sadly no, 7 years later and it never got done :(
jesse
 
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:46 am

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Postby dtrmbullet » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:43 pm

Happy to see you still replying to the forum Jesse. Your software rules so hard...SOOOO much better then Ableton loop functionality. Love it. Just got a new ACPAD and having fun with new midi binding combinations. Hope you are still tinkering!

I'm Sure you hear it all the time, but would love to see a new version. Maybe a Kickstarter, IndigoGo, or other crowed funding platform. I would 100% contribute monetarily and also with content if desired/useful (posting screen flow videos and other demos using the software with my live loop set up).

If you wanted to put out a new call for feature requests I bet you would get some great feedback. You have a lot of people using your software already and I foresee this number growing exponentially if you came back today, looping is all the rage and your sooperlooper is still leading the pack.

Cheers

Weforgot...
(Scott)
dtrmbullet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:46 pm


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron